Ohio State defensive end Tyquan Lewis was named the Big Ten's Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year this afternoon. Redshirt sophomore Malik Hooker was named to the All-Big Ten first team as a defensive back by both coaches and media, as was junior Raekwon McMillan at linebacker. Senior Cameron Johnston was named the Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year.

With an elite defense, Ohio State figured to take home plenty of hardware when the Big Ten announced its defensive all-conference team Tuesday.

The Buckeyes weren't left empty-handed, but they didn't get most of the major awards, either.

Ohio State defensive end Tyquan Lewis was named the Big Ten's Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year for his role on the Buckeyes' dominant defensive line.

But Michigan's Jabrill Peppers got Linebacker of the Year over Raekwon McMillan and Defensive Player of the Year over safety Malik Hooker, who was considered the favorite. McMillan and Hooker were named first-team all-Big Ten by coaches and media. In addition, Cameron Johnston was named the Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year.

Redshirt sophomore cornerback Marshon Lattimore, who has four interceptions, was named a first-team defensive back by coaches and second-team by media.

>>> Predict this weekend's top college football games

Lewis, a fourth-year junior, leads the Buckeyes in tackles for losses with 10 and sacks with 7½. The North Carolina native also developed into a leader of a young unit that lost Tracy Sprinkle in the season opener.

Last year, Lewis had 16½ tackles for losses, including 8½ sacks, when defenses geared their blocking to stopping Joey Bosa on the opposite side of the defensive line. Bosa won Defensive Lineman of the Year honors in 2014 and '15. Lewis proved this year that he could produce even when he got extra attention.

Hooker has six interceptions, including three returned for touchdowns. He has 181 interception return yards, almost as much as the total of the three next-closest players.

The redshirt sophomore from Pennsylvania has 67 tackles, including five for losses. Still, he lost out for defensive player of the year to the versatile Peppers, who got his first career interception last week against Ohio State.

McMillan has 87 tackles, including five for losses and one sack. He was praised by coaches throughout the season for his steady leadership, and his production increased down the stretch. He had 16 tackles against Michigan on Saturday to earn Big Ten defensive player of the week honors.

>>> Got a question about the Buckeyes? Ask the Experts

Johnston leads the Big Ten and is fifth nationally in punting average (46.2 yards). The Australian is one of three finalists for the Ray Guy Award, given to the country's top punter.

Junior cornerback Gareon Conley was voted second-team all-Big Ten by coaches and third-team by media.

Senior kicker Tyler Durbin made third-team all-Big Ten by both coaches and media. Sophomore Parris Campbell was made third-team return specialist by coaches.

Sophomore linebacker Jerome Baker, junior defensive tackle Michael Hill, junior defensive end Jalyn Holmes, sophomore defensive end Sam Hubbard, sophomore cornerback Denzel Ward, junior safety Damon Webb and junior linebacker Chris Worley made honorable mention.

Wisconsin's Paul Chryst (coaches) and Penn State's James Franklin (media) split Coach of the Year honors. Urban Meyer has not received that honor despite a 61-5 record in his five seasons at Ohio State. In fact, no Ohio State coach has received Coach of the Year since Earle Bruce in 1979.

Senior linebacker Joe Burger was named as Ohio State's sportsmanship honoree.

On Wednesday, the Big Ten will announce offensive award-winners.