Shelby Hursh tossed a complete game and the third-seeded Ohio State softball team benefitted from two unearned runs in a 3-2 victory over sixth-seeded Wisconsin in a Big Ten tournament quarterfinal on Friday at Michigan's Alumni Field.

Hursh scattered four hits and allowed both runs in the top of the sixth inning as the Buckeyes (34-15) hung on to advance to a semifinal against seventh-seeded Michigan State at 3:30 p.m. today. Top-seeded Minnesota will take on fourth-seeded Illinois in the other semifinal.

Ohio State struck for its three runs in the bottom of the second inning. With one out, Ashley Goodwin singled and was moved to third on Becca Gavin’s double to left field. Bri Betschel then reached on a fielding error by Stephanie Lombardo that plated both Goodwin and Gavin.

Anna Kirk followed with a single to center that brought home Betschel. Ohio State totaled five hits.

Lombardo brought the Badgers to within one on a two-run single in the sixth, but Hursh retired the side and then pitched a perfect seventh. She struck out 10 and walked two in notching the win.

Men's tennis

Third-ranked Ohio State breezed to a 4-0 shutout of Butler (18-6) in the opening round of the NCAA championships at the Varsity Tennis Courts. The Buckeyes (30-3) move on to host Louisville at 3 p.m. today.

Kyle Seelig clinched the match with a 6-1, 6-3 win over Ari Gerstein as the Buckeyes did not yield a set in any of the singles or doubles matches. Ohio State has now won 30 matches in 10 of the last 11 years and improves to 23-0 all-time in NCAA tournament matches in Columbus.

Track and field

Pole vaulters Madison Roberts and Megan Hoffman led Ohio State on the opening day of the Big Ten championships at Penn State.

Roberts cleared 13 feet, 2½ inches to tie for third, and Hoffman went 12-8¾ to finish fifth. Also in the field, hammer thrower Sade Olatoye of Dublin Coffman finished fourth (195-6).

Meanwhile, Aayliah Barnes of Eastmoor Academy won her heat in the 200 (23.58 seconds) and Alexus Pyles is in ninth in the heptathlon (2,913).

The highlight for the OSU men was in a 200 qualifying heat. Deshawn Marshall (20.95), Nick Gray of Pickerington North (21.00), Duan Asemota (21.14) and Champ Page (21.25) all qualified for the final.


Host Iowa scored in six different innings to secure a 9-5 Big Ten decision over Ohio State at Duane Banks Field.

Matt Hoeg and Michael Neustrom each had two RBI for the Hawkeyes (30-17, 12-7), who trailed 1-0 in the second inning before scoring the next five runs against the Buckeyes (19-31, 6-13). Starting pitcher Jake Post (1-6) took the loss for Ohio State after surrendering four earned runs in four innings.

Jalen Washington led Ohio State with a homer and three RBI. Jacob Barnwell added a homer and two RBI, ande Shea Murray had three hits.