With national awards season just around the corner, Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett learned Monday he is one of three finalists for the Davey O’Brien award.

He made the cut along with Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, who is considered to be the front-runner for the Heisman Trophy, and Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph.

Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast:

Headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, the award — named after the former Texas Christian star — has gone annually since 1981 to what its selection committee defines as the best major college quarterback.

Barrett and the Buckeyes, who with a 52-14 win over Illinois last week clinched the Big Ten East’s spot in the league championship game Dec. 2 against Wisconsin, wrap up the regular season Saturday at Michigan.

In the win over the Illini, Barrett threw two touchdown passes, increasing his Big Ten career record to 101, and he became just the second Big Ten player to top 12,000 yards of total offense. He has 12,149, and with at least three games to play, is in striking distance of Drew Brees’ Big Ten record (12,692). Barrett, a four-year starter, already owns 35 Big Ten and/or Ohio State records.