Ohio State defensive ends Tyquan Lewis and Nick Bosa were named first-team All-Big Ten on Tuesday in voting by both league coaches and media.

Cornerback Denzel Ward was a first-team selection on the media ballot.

Ward was a second-team pick in the voting by coaches. Defensive Sam Hubbard was second-team in both the media and coaches votes.

Lewis, last year’s Big Ten defensive lineman of the year as a junior, has five sacks and 6½ tackles for loss this season. Bosa, a sophomore, leads Ohio State with six tackles and has 12½ tackles for loss.

Ward, who rotated with first-round NFL picks Gareon Conley and Marshon Lattimore, has developed into a shutdown corner this year. He has 13 pass breakups and one interception. A junior, Ward also has two critical kick blocks — a momentum-changing punt block against Penn State and one on an extra point last week against Michigan.

Join the conversation at Facebook.com/BuckeyeXtra and connect with us on Twitter @BuckeyeXtra 

Hubbard, the current Big Ten defensive player of the week after a 2½-sack game last week, has 10 tackles for loss and 4½ sacks.

Defensive tackle Dre’Mont Jones and safety Jordan Fuller were third-team picks by coaches. Safety Damon Webb was a third-team selection by media.

Kicker Sean Nuernberger, punter Drue Chrisman and return specialist Parris Campbell were honored in special-teams voting. Campbell was second-team by media and third-team by coaches. Nuernberger and Chrisman were third-team in both votes.

Defensive end Jalyn Holmes and linebackers Jerome Baker and Chris Worley were named honorable mention by both coaches and media. Webb got that designation by coaches. Fuller and cornerback Damon Arnette were honorable mention by media.

Defensive tackle Tracy Sprinkle was named Ohio State’s Sportsmanship Award honoree by coaches.

All-Big Ten offensive selections will be announced on Wednesday. Individual awards will be named on Thursday.



Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast: