Ohio State’s Billy Price was already first team All-America. Now it’s unanimous.

The last of the big five All-America teams, that were decided by the American Football Coaches Association, named the graduate center to its first team on Wednesday. Price, the 2017 Rimington Trophy winner as the top center of the season, previously had been named to the Associated Press, Walter Camp, Sporting News and Football Writers Association teams.

The AFCA also finally ordained Nick Bosa as a first teamer. The Ohio State sophomore defensive end had been named second team on three previous squads.

Joining him on the AFCA defense was OSU junior cornerback Denzel Ward, who became a consensus first-teamer with inclusion on three squads.

According to OSU, Price joined a distinguished list of former Buckeyes who were considered unanimous All-America choices, including in this century center Pat Elflein, the 2016 Rimington Trophy winner, and safety Malik Hooker last year; Bosa’s older brother Joey in 2014; linebacker James Laurnaitis in 2007; Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Troy Smith in 2006; linebacker A.J. Hawk in 2005; and safety Mike Doss in 2002.

Price followed in the footsteps of Elflein in another way. Just like Elflein switched from guard to center for his final season and became recognized as the best in the nation, Price did the same this season. And like Elflein, Price was named the Big Ten offensive lineman of the year.

Headed toward the Cotton Bowl vs. Southern California on Dec.29, Bosa is the team leader in tackles for loss this season with 12.5, including credit for a team-leading six sacks and six more quarterback hurries.



Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast: