Regular season Big Ten champion Maryland was the overall No. 1 seed and conference tournament champion Johns Hopkins was a fifth seed, but the NCAA men's lacrosse tournament selection committee did not choose Ohio State on Sunday night.

Seventeen teams were selected, including Canisius and Robert Morris for a play-in game. The winner of that game plays Maryland.

The Buckeyes (8-7) were defeated 6-5 by Johns Hopkins on a goal with 11.6 seconds left in a Big Ten semifinal.

Ohio State, which lost to Maryland in the national championship game last season, had an RPI of 19. It was 2-4 against teams ranked in the top 10.