For a shot at a $2 million prize, a group of former Ohio State and Michigan players are teaming up to participate in this summer’s The Basketball Tournament.

Primarily assembled by Andrew Dakich, a former Wolverines walk-on who played for the Buckeyes last season as a graduate transfer, “Big X” is hoping to get enough support to be included in the 72-team tournament.

Composed of Buckeyes Jae’Sean Tate and Kam Williams, former Wolverines Duncan Robinson, Mark Donnal, Stu Douglass and Jon Horford, and Illinois’ Nnanna Egwu, the team could potentially face another of former Ohio State players — coached by Scoonie Penn — that reached last year’s final four.

Playful smack talk has already been exchanged.

Join the conversation at and connect with us on Twitter @BuckeyeXtra 

“It could be a dream come true, going up against Aaron Craft and having him guard me and I’m guarding him,” Dakich told The Dispatch. “Now that might not go in my favor, because that dude’s really good, but it would be really cool to be a part of.”

The top nine vote-getters in the Midwest region will be entered into the tournament. Fans can vote for teams by visiting and searching by team name — if Ohio State and Michigan fans can stomach the thought of voting for a team featuring players from the other side of the rivalry.

“Jae’Sean Tate and Kam have the utmost respect for guys like Duncan Robinson,” Dakich said. “Obviously, it’s a rivalry and we hate each other when we play on the court, but it’s for one goal and now you get to play for money, which is pretty cool to be a part of. I’m sure it will be an interesting fan base.”

Columbus will serve as a host city for the Midwest regionals July 20-22 at Capital.