Michigan State has been chosen to repeat as Big Ten champions in the 2018-19 media poll conducted jointly by the Dispatch and the Athletic.

The Spartans, who finished one game ahead of Ohio State and Purdue last season at 16-2 in conference play, return three starters under coach Tom Izzo. They received 22 of the possible 28 votes to finish ahead of No. 2 Michigan, which received four first-place votes, and No. 3 Indiana, which received one. The Boilermakers, picked to finish in fifth behind Nebraska, also received a first-place vote.

Purdue’s Carsen Edwards was named the preseason player of the year, garnering 23 votes after being named a second-team All-American and first-team all-Big Ten player a season ago for averaging 18.5 points per game. He is the conference’s top returning scorer.

Edwards was also a unanimous selection for the media’s all-conference team alongside Wisconsin’s Ethan Happ. Nebraska’s James Palmer Jr., Michigan State’s Cassius Winston and Indiana’s Juwan Morgan round out the team. Hoosiers freshman Romeo Langford, who became the first top prospect from Indiana to commit to the Hoosiers since Eric Gordon in 2007, was a unanimous choice for Big Ten freshman of the year.

The Buckeyes were projected to finish eighth in the Big Ten, one spot behind Maryland and just ahead of Minnesota. No Ohio State players received any votes for individual honors. The Buckeyes were picked as high as fifth in the Big Ten by two voters and as low as 12th by a pair of others. One year after picking them to finish 12th, I have them eighth this year.

Here’s how the voting finished, with a first-place vote counting for 14 points, a second-place vote counting for 13 points and so on. First-place votes are in parenthesis.

1. Michigan State – 386 (22)
2. Michigan – 360 (4)
3. Indiana – 305 (1)
4. Nebraska – 293
5. Purdue – 269 (1)
6. Wisconsin – 263
7. Maryland – 240
8. Ohio State – 177
9. Minnesota – 168
10. Iowa – 154
11. Penn State – 134
12. Northwestern – 95
13. Illinois – 65
14. Rutgers – 31

Player of the Year
Carsen Edwards, Purdue: 23
Also receiving votes: Ethan Happ, Wisconsin: 4; Charles Matthews, Michigan: 1

Freshman of the Year
Romeo Langford, Indiana: 28

Carson Edwards, Purdue: 28
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin: 28
James Palmer Jr., Nebraska: 23
Cassius Winston, Michigan State: 16
Juwan Morgan, Indiana: 12
Also receiving votes: Nick Ward, Michigan State: 9; Jordan Murphy, Minnesota: 7; Romeo Langford, Indiana: 6; Charles Matthews, Michigan: 5; Anthony Cowan Jr., Maryland: 4; Isaiah Livers, Michigan: 1; Zavier Simpson, Michigan: 1

The voting panel consisted of 28 writers with two from each beat in the Big Ten. Here’s who participated this year:

Scott Richey – Illinois | Champaign News-Gazette
Jeremy Werner – Illinois | Scout
Alex Bozich – Indiana | Inside the Hall
Zach Osterman – Indiana | Indianapolis Star
Mark Emmert – Iowa | The Des Moines Register
Chad Leistikow – Iowa | The Des Moines Register
Emily Giambalvo – Maryland | Washington Post
Patrick Stevens – Maryland | The Athletic
Nick Baumgardner – Michigan | Detroit Free Press
Dylan Burkhart – Michigan | UMHoops
Graham Couch – Michigan State | Lansing State Journal
Brendan Quinn – Michigan State | The Athletic
Marcus Fuller – Minnesota | The Star Tribune
Ryan James – Minnesota | 247Sports
Chris Basnett – Nebraska | Lincoln Journal Star
Christopher Heady – Nebraska | Omaha World-Herald
Teddy Greenstein – Northwestern | Chicago Tribune
Shannon Ryan – Illinois/Northwestern | The Chicago Tribune
David Jones – Penn State | Harrisburg Patriot-News
Audrey Snyder – Penn State | The Athletic
Nathan Baird – Purdue | Lafayette Journal & Courier
Brian Neubert – Purdue | Rivals
Adam Jardy – Ohio State | The Columbus Dispatch
Bill Landis – Ohio State | Cleveland.com
Jerry Carino – Rutgers | Asbury Park Press
Joshua Newman – Rutgers | Asbury Park Press
Jim Polzin – Wisconsin | Wisconsin State Journal
Jeff Potrykus – Wisconsin | Milwaukee Journal Sentinel