Ohio State wrestler Sammy Sasso was named national freshman of the year. Sasso, a redshirt freshman, went 24-3, including 9-0 in Big Ten dual meets. He was seeded third at 149 pounds entering the NCAA championships, which were canceled.

Ohio State senior Kollin Moore finished second in voting for the Dan Hodge Trophy, awarded to the nation’s top wrestler. Moore was 27-0 and was to be the No. 1 seed at 197 pounds for the NCAA championships after winning his third Big Ten title.

Spencer Lee, a 125-pounder from Iowa, won the Hodge.