Ohio State announces committee to investigate Urban Meyer

Bill Rabinowitz
Ohio State Buckeyes head coach Urban Meyer speaks during a media press conference at the Woody Hayes Athletic Center on November 27, 2017. [Kyle Robertson/ Dispatch]

The Ohio State University board of trustees announced on Thursday night a six-person special independent working group to investigate head football coach Urban Meyer.

The committee includes current trustees Alex Fischer, Janet Porter and Alex Shumate. They will be joined by former Ohio House Speaker Jo Ann Davidson, former acting U.S. Deputy Attorney General Craig Morford and Carter Stewart, former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Ohio.

According to the three-paragraph news release, the six members will “direct the work of the investigative team and be available to provide consultation and advice and assist with communication to the full board on the matter.”

>> Complete Coverage | Urban Meyer investigation

Ohio State announced on Wednesday when it placed Meyer on paid administrative leave that it would form a committee to look into how the coach responded to domestic abuse allegations involving fired wide receivers coach Zach Smith.

Shumate is in his third term on the OSU board of trustees. He is the managing partner of the Columbus office of the Squire Patton Boggs international law firm.

Fischer is president and CEO of the Columbus Partnership, a civic organization composed of top local business leaders. He has been publicly involved in recent months in efforts to keep Columbus Crew SC of Major League Soccer from relocating to Austin, Texas, in 2019.

Porter has served in a number of top capacities in health care, including CEO of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Of nontrustees, Stewart, 49, is managing partner of the Draper Richards Kaplan philanthropic foundation. He has degrees from Stanford, Columbia and Harvard.

Morford, 59, is chief legal and compliance officer for Cardinal Health.

Davidson, 90, is vice-chair of the Ohio Casino Control Commission. In 1995, she became the first woman to become Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives.


Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast: