Ohio State names seven captains for football season

Tim May
Ohio State defensive end Nick Bosa is among the seven captains for the 2018 season. [Paul Vernon/The Associated Press]

One week before the season opener, Ohio State acting head coach Ryan Day on Saturday named seven captains for the season, including four seniors and a couple of repeats, that were the result of a vote by the team.

Receivers Parris Campbell and Terry McLaurin, captains in 2017, will reprise those roles. They will be joined by fellow receiver Johnnie Dixon, with tackle Isaiah Prince the other senior named.

The juniors in the room will be preseason All-America defensive end Nick Bosa and safety Jordan Fuller, joined by third-year sophomore linebacker Tuf Borland.

Borland’s selection stood out, since he is in the final stages of his returning from an Achilles tendon injury suffered in the spring.

The Buckeyes, who will be without coach Urban Meyer through the first three games because of suspension, open with Oregon State on Sept.1.

Meanwhile, Ohio State confirmed the addition of quarterback Chris Chugunov, a graduate transfer from West Virginia. He has two seasons of eligibility remaining, including this season.


Next game

Ohio State vs. Oregon State

When: Noon Saturday

TV: ABC (Ch. 6)

Radio: WBNS-FM/AM (97.1/1460)