Dwayne Haskins, Sade Olatoye named Ohio State's athletes of the year

Joey Kaufman
Dwayne Haskins Jr. became the first Ohio State football player to be named the school's male athlete of the year since Troy Smith in 2007. [Joshua A. Bickel/Dispatch]

Quarterback Dwayne Haskins Jr. became the first football player since Troy Smith to win Ohio State’s male athlete of the year.

Haskins received the honor for 2019, along with Sade Olatoye, a thrower for the women’s track and field team who was named female athlete of the year.

The school announced the winners Wednesday, putting them on the ballots for the Big Ten’s athlete of the year awards.

A finalist for the Heisman Trophy, Haskins set Big Ten records for passing yards and touchdowns as he threw for 4,831 yards and 50 touchdowns. The Buckeyes finished 13-1, including their first Rose Bowl victory since 2010.

Haskins was selected 15th overall by the Washington Redskins in the NFL draft in April, the Buckeyes’ first quarterback taken in the first round since 1982.

Smith previously won OSU’s male athlete of the year award in 2007 following his Heisman Trophy-winning season.

Olatoye won a national championship in the weight throw with a mark of 24.46 meters and holds four school records, including in both indoor and outdoor shot put.


Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast: