Chase Young, Justin Fields, J.K. Dobbins, Jeff Okudah named national awards finalists

Joey Kaufman
Defensive end Chase Young celebrates after sacking Penn State quarterback Will Levis, who had fumbled the snap on Saturday. [Barbara J. Perenic]

Ohio State will have four players in attendance at the nationally televised College Football Awards in Atlanta next month.

Defensive end Chase Young is a finalist for both the Maxwell Award, which goes to the top overall player in the nation, and the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the top defensive player.

The other finalists for the Maxwell Award are quarterbacks Joe Burrow of Louisiana State and Jalen Hurts of Oklahoma. The other finalists for the Bednarik Award are Auburn defensive tackle Derrick Brown and Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons.

Despite missing two games due to a suspension after an NCAA rules violation, Young leads the Football Bowl Subdivision with 16.5 sacks, also a school record, and his 19.5 tackles for loss are third in the FBS.

Young is joined by quarterback Justin Fields, running back J.K. Dobbins and cornerback Jeff Okudah, who are finalists for other individual awards.

Fields is a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback, Dobbins is a finalist for the Doak Walker Award as the top running back and Okudah is a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award as the top defensive back.

Both Burrow and Hurts are the other finalists the Davey O'Brien Award. Oklahoma State's Chuba Hubbard and Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor are finalists with Dobbins, and LSU's Grant Delpit and Georgia's J.R. Reed with Okudah.

The finalists were announced Monday. The awards ceremony is Dec. 12 at the College Football Hall of Fame and televised by ESPN.

The last time an Ohio State player won any of the aforementioned awards was in 2008 when safety Malcolm Jenkins took the Thorpe Award. No Ohio State player has won the Bednarik Award since it was established in 1995.

Finalists for the Heisman Trophy will be announced next month.


Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast: