Ohio State’s Justin Fields named Big Ten’s offensive player of the year

Bill Rabinowitz
Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields (1), shown here after running for a first down against Penn State, became the fourth OSU player in seven seasons to be named Big Ten offensive player of the year, joining Dwayne Haskins Jr., Ezekiel Elliott and Braxton Miller. [Barbara J. Perenic/Dispatch]

Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields was named offensive player of the year as the Big Ten announced its offensive all-conference teams on Wednesday.

Fields and running back J.K. Dobbins were named first-team all-Big Ten in both coaches and media voting. All five of Ohio State’s starting offensive linemen earned at least third-team honors.

Ohio State left guard Jonah Jackson was named to the first team by coaches. Right guard Wyatt Davis was named to the first team by media.

Davis was named a second-teamer by coaches, and Jackson had that designation by media.

On the coaches’ ballot, right tackle Branden Bowen and left tackle Thayer Munford made second team and center Josh Myers third. In media voting, Munford, Jackson and Myers all were second-team selections.

Receiver Chris Olave and backup running back Master Teague III were third-team selections in both coaches and media voting. Tight end Luke Farrell was a third-team pick by coaches.

Farrell was honorable mention by media, as was receiver K.J. Hill by coaches.

Fields has accounted for 47 touchdowns — 37 passing and 10 rushing — while throwing only one interception heading into Saturday’s Big Ten championship game against Wisconsin.

The sophomore transfer from Georgia is completing 68.2% of his passes and has thrown for 2,654 yards. As a runner, he has gained 470 yards, which takes into account 173 in negative yardage, mostly sacks.

Fields also was named the conference’s top quarterback.

Dobbins has gained 1,657 yards and run for 19 touchdowns. The junior also has 17 catches for 200 yards and two scores.

Dobbins was not named running back of the year. Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor won that award.

Olave leads the Buckeyes with 705 receiving yards and has scored 11 touchdowns. Teague has gained 780 yards and scored four touchdowns as Dobbins’ backup.

Farrell has only five catches, but he is part of a deep tight ends group that has excelled as blockers.


Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast: