Chase Young is first Ohio State defender to win Big Ten Silver Football Award

Joey Kaufman
Ohio State defensive end Chase Young (2) joined Dwayne Haskins Jr., J.T. Barrett, Ezekiel Elliott and Braxton Miller as OSU players since 2012 to win the Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award, given to the conference’s top player. [Adam Cairns]

Chase Young on Friday was named the winner of the Chicago Tribune Silver Football award, the latest honor for Ohio State’s star pass rusher.

Young is the Buckeyes’ second consecutive winner, sixth in eighth years and 21st overall, but their first defensive player to be recognized as player of the year in the Big Ten.

Only five defensive players had previously won the award, and none since 2009, when Michigan defensive end Brandon Graham shared the honor with Penn State quarterback Daryll Clark.

The conference’s 14 head coaches vote for the award, which was first given out in 1924.

Young was named the Big Ten’s defensive player of the year earlier this week after he set Ohio State’s record for sacks in a season with 16.5. He also led the conference with 19.5 tackles for loss.

Quarterback Dwayne Haskins Jr. was the recipient of the award last season.

It is considered the most prestigious Big Ten honor for a player, as the conference does not have a player-of-the-year award but separate recognition for the offensive and defensive players of the year.


Listen to the BuckeyeXtra Football podcast: