Running back Miyan Williams out for Ohio State football's national title game

Scott Springer
Cincinnati Enquirer

Former Winton Woods back Miyan Williams, a true freshman at Ohio State, won't be playing in Monday night's national championship game in Miami against Alabama.

The 5-foot-8 230-pound rugged runner tweeted late Saturday night that he did not make the trip. He ended the tweet with symbols for a broken heart and a frown.

Ohio State Buckeyes running back Miyan Williams, right, congratulates running back Trey Sermon, left, who also was the game’s MVP, following the Buckeyes’ 22-10 victory against the Northwestern Wildcats during the Big Ten Championship football game on Saturday, Dec. 19, 2020 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

Justin Fields:Ohio State coach Ryan Day pleased by quarterback's preparation for national title game

National championship game:Buckeyes, Crimson Tide rosters populated with future NFL players

How to watch:Where to find the Ohio State-Alabama national championship game

Williams rushed for 64 yards on 10 carries during the season, but with starter Master Teague out for the Jan. 1 Sugar Bowl against Clemson, he backed up Trey Sermon. Sermon rumbled for 193 yards, but Williams got three carries spelling Sermon and racked up 21 yards in the 49-28 triumph over the Tigers. Later he posed with the Allstate Sugar Bowl Trophy. 

The official participants in Monday's title game won't be released until hours before the kickoff at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. The Buckeyes are No. 3 and 7-0, while Alabama is No. 1 at 11-0. 

Winton Woods player Miyan Williams (28) runs downfield during the OHSAA football game between La Salle and Winton Woods on Friday, Oct. 25, 2019 in Monfort Heights.

Out of Winton Woods High School, Williams was the No. 17 ranked player in Ohio according to Williams ran for 5,823 yards and 68 scores in his career with the Warriors for coach Andre Parker. He ranked 31st on the OHSAA all-time career rushing list and was Ohio Mr. Football runner-up in 2018.