Track and field | Ohio State women win Big Ten championship

Staff Writer
Buckeye Xtra
(Columbus Dispatch photo by Jonathan Quilter)

Ohio State won the women's Big Ten outdoor track and field championship on Sunday in Iowa City, Iowa. It’s the first outdoor title for the women since 2012.

The Buckeyes finished the three-day meet with 126 points and three individual champions.

Anavia Battle took first place in the 100-meter dash and 200 dash with times of 11.32 seconds and 22.73 seconds, respectively. Abby Nichols won the 5,000 run, breaking a school record with a time of 15:56.52. Taylor DeLoach topped the podium in the long jump, leaping 20 feet, 3½ inches. The 400 relay team, which consists of Battle, DeLoach, Bliss Soleyn and Karimah Senior, took first in 43.99.

Indiana finished second (95 points) and Iowa third (93).

The Ohio State men finished with 72 points, good for fifth place. Iowa claimed the championship with 116 points.

Nick Gray was the lone individual men’s champ for the Buckeyes. The Pickerington North grad took first place in the 200 with a time of 20.23. He finished his career an 11-time Big Ten champ.