Swimming & diving | Ohio State women win first Big Ten title since 1986

Ohio State’s women’s swimming and diving team, including Katie Trace, competed at the Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships in Iowa City, Iowa. [Kyle Robertson/Dispatch file photo]

Ohio State won the title at the Big Ten women’s swimming and diving championship Saturday in Iowa City, Iowa.

The title marks the Buckeyes’ sixth in program history but the first in 34 years.

Kathrin Demler finished first in the 500-yard freestyle, Molly Kowal won gold in the 1,650 freestyle and Mackenzie Crawford won the 1-meter springboard in diving. The Buckeyes also won the 200 freestyle relay.

Besides Demler, Kowal and Crawford, four other Buckeyes earned all-conference first team honors: Amy Fulmer, Lucija Jurkovic Perisa, Taylor Petrak and Freya Rayner.