Kollin Moore, Luke Pletcher win Big Ten wrestling titles for Ohio State

Staff Writer
Buckeye Xtra
Kollin Moore [Eric Albrecht/Dispatch file photo]

Seniors Kollin Moore and Luke Pletcher both won titles on Sunday to lead Ohio State at the Big Ten wrestling championships in Piscataway, New Jersey.

Ohio State finished third in the team standings with 112 points. Iowa won with 157.5 points, and Nebraska was second with 132.

Eight Buckeyes qualified for the NCAA championships, which begin March 19 in Minneapolis.

Moore, seeded No. 1 at 197 pounds, defeated No. 8 Eric Schultz of Nebraska 4-1 in the final for his third Big Ten title. He won in 2017 and 2018.

Pletcher, seeded No. 2 at 141 pounds, pulled ahead in the third period and beat No. 1 seed Nick Lee of Penn State 6-5 for his first conference title. He reached the final the past two seasons.

Freshman Sammy Sasso, the No. 1 seed at 149 pounds, lost 2-1 to Iowa’s Pat Lugo, the No. 2 seed, in the final.

Sophomore Kaleb Romero dropped a 3-1 decision to Dylan Lydy of Purdue to finish fourth at 174 pounds.

Sophomore Ethan Smith was fourth at 165 pounds, losing 3-2 to Isaiah White of Nebraska in the third-place match.

Freshman 184-pounder Rocky Jordan beat Max Lyon of Purdue 6-1 for fifth place.

Junior heavyweight Gary Traub was sixth after a 6-0 loss to David Jensen of Nebraska.

Malik Heinselman, a sophomore who did not wrestle in Sunday’s final session, finished seventh at 125 pounds to qualify for the NCAA championships.