Lorenzo Styles Jr., Gabe Powers, Bryan Johnson top Division I All-Ohio football team

Staff reports
Lorenzo Styles Jr. of Pickerington Central runs for extra yardage after making a catch against Pickerington North on Aug. 30.

Central Ohio had three major award winners on the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Division I All-Ohio football team.

Pickerington Central receiver/defensive back/return specialist Lorenzo Styles Jr. shared the offensive player of the year award with quarterback Liam Clifford of state champion Cincinnati St. Xavier.

A Notre Dame commit, Styles had a tremendous impact in all phases helping Central advance to the state championship game. He totaled 619 yards and five TDs as a receiver, amassed 835 yards and four TDs on kick and punt returns and also was a shutdown cornerback.

Linebacker Gabe Powers of Marysville, considered by some services as the top-rated junior prospect in Ohio, was chosen defensive player of the year. The Ohio State commit had 61 solo tackles, four sacks, four forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and an interception in eight games.

The coach of the year is Bryan Johnson, who guided Westerville North to a 6-4 record for its first winning season since 2004.

The first team featured nine area players. Joining Styles and Powers were quarterback Judah Holtzclaw of Westerville Central, running back Bryon Threats of Dublin Coffman, offensive linemen Keaton Snyder of Pickerington Central and Braedon Elwer of New Albany, defensive lineman Hammond Russell of Dublin Coffman, linebacker Zeke Healy of Westerville Central and kicker Casey Magyar of Dublin Coffman.

Holtzclaw passed for 1,339 yards and 14 TDs and also rushed for 10 scores. Threats, a Cincinnati recruit, amassed 1,426 rushing and receiving yards with 22 TDs. Snyder was the linchpin of a Central running game that averaged 235 yards per game. Elwer had 16 pancake blocks alternating between tackle and tight end.

Russell, a West Virginia commit, had 52 tackles (nine for loss) despite constant double teams. Healy recorded 91 tackles, 15 for loss, with three sacks. A Kent State recruit, Magyar made 3 of 4 field goal attempts and 38 of 38 extra point kicks and sent 39 of his 55 kickoffs into the end zone.

Earning second-team honors were quarterback AJ Mirgon of Hilliard Bradley, running backs Aidan Kenley of Olentangy Liberty and Ron Blackman of Gahanna, receiver Caden Konczak of OIentangy Orange, offensive linemen Carter Smith of Olentangy Liberty, Dalton Hall of Reynoldsburg and Gavin Rohrs of Marysville, linebacker Devin Williams of Dublin Coffman, defensive back Delaney Wilburn of Groveport and punter Josh Laisure of Olentangy Orange.